#1 NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER


For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

BOOK REVIEWS


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Paul Kalanithi, M.D., was a neurosurgeon and writer. Paul grew up in Kingman, Arizona, before attending Stanford University, from which he graduated in 2000 with a B.A. and M.A. in English Literature and a B.A. in Human Biology. He earned an M.Phil in History and Philosophy of Science and Medicine from the Cambridge University before attending medical school.
More about Paul ▸▸

PAUL'S WIFE LUCY


Paul's wife, Lucy Kalanithi, M.D., wrote the epilogue to When Breath Becomes Air. She continues to share Paul's story with the world and to talk -- as a physician and a widow -- about caregiving, end-of-life care, bereavement, resilience and meaning in medicine.
More about Lucy ▸▸

LATEST VIDEOS

learn about upcoming events with Lucy here Upcoming Events▸▸